Frontier Rodeo Company Receives PRCA Stock Contractor of the Year, Saddle Bronc of the Year, Medicine Woman, and PRCA Reserve World Champion Bareback Horse of the Year, Full Baggage!

December 3, 2015

LAS VEGAS – Justin Rumford is a well-known PRCA ProRodeo entertainer.

On Wednesday night, he was a two-time winner at the PRCA’s annual awards banquet.

Rumford won both the Coors Man in the Can and Clown of the Year awards before a packed house of 1,032 people at the South Point Hotel, Casino & Spa’s Grand Ballroom.

“This feels great,” Rumford said. “Last year I set a goal to work as hard as I can and try and do this again, and I’m just very thankful for everybody who voted for me. I’m so happy right now I’m about to cry.”

This was the fourth consecutive year Rumford won Clown of the Year. Rumford also was the Coors Man in the Can in 2013.

“It really means a lot,” said Rumford about his double awards.

The San Antonio Stock Show & Rodeo continued its dominance in the Large Indoor Rodeo of the Year category, winning for the 11th year in a row. Keith Martin, who is the CEO of the San Antonio Stock Show & Rodeo, announced to the audience that the San Antonio Stock Show & Rodeo was donating its bonus check to Jake Barnes.

Moments before Martin made his announcement, the Days of ’76 Rodeo in Deadwood, S.D., which was chosen as Medium Rodeo of the Year for the 12th year in a row, did the same thing for Barnes.

Barnes, a seven-time world champion team roping header, suffered a traumatic brain injury and a broken ankle Nov. 27 when his horse fell while practicing with heeling partner Junior Nogueira at Barnes’ arena near Scottsdale, Ariz. The injury forced Barnes to withdraw from the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo presented by Polaris RANGER Dec. 3-12 in Las Vegas.

“When somebody needs help, we all help each other,” Martin said. “That was a great gesture that Deadwood did, and we should do the same thing.

“It means a lot to our volunteers back home (to win this award again). They work hard to get it done and this is for them, and it is for all the committees, and I’m just proud we are able to do it every year. You never take it for granted and you can never can just be satisfied with what you’re doing. I think you have to try to do better every year.”

Ted Thompson of the Days of ’76 Rodeo was glad to help out Barnes in his time of need.

“This is something we wanted to do for him and his family,” Thompson said. “Jake’s been a contestant at our rodeo for many years, and he’s a great guy and a great ambassador for ProRodeo. We think the world of him and that’s why I offered this challenge. We are just so blessed (to win this Medium Rodeo of the Year).”

Matt Twitchell made history when he was chosen as the inaugural winner of the Pickup Man of the Year.

“This is pretty cool to be the first one,” Twitchell said. “This is just awesome.”

The Pendleton (Ore.) Round-Up was selected as the Large Outdoor Rodeo of the Year.

The Will Rogers Stampede PRCA Rodeo in Claremore (Okla.) rodeo was chosen as the Small Rodeo of the Year for the second year in a row.

Frontier Rodeo was named Stock Contractor of the Year. It was an award Stace Smith Pro Rodeos had won the previous 11 years.

John Harrison was the Comedy Act of the Year for the second year in a row.

“I’m just glad Rumford doesn’t know how to trick ride,” said Harrison, which drew a laugh from the crowd.

Linda Alsbaugh was selected Secretary of the Year, and Randy Corley was chosen as the Announcer of the Year.

Dusty Tuckness was named the Bullfighter of the Year for the third year in a row, and Amanda & John Payne were chosen as Dress Act of the Year.

“I’ve been very blessed (to win this award)” Tuckness said. “This is always humbling to know my peers in this industry believe in me this much.”

The Pendleton (Ore.) Rodeo Committee and Three Hills Rodeo were selected for the Remuda Awards. Dr. John Boyington was selected Zoetis PRCA Veterinarian of the Year.

The PRCA Donita Barnes Contract Personnel Lifetime Achievement award was given to ProRodeo Hall of Fame stock contractor Cotton Rosser. Rosser then immediately donated his bonus check to Lewis Feild, a five-time world champion, who is suffering from pancreatic cancer.

2015 winners




Justin Committee Person of the Year

Mike Mathis, Lufkin (Texas) PRCA Rodeo

PRCA Media Awards

Rodeo Photography

James Phifer

Print Journalism

Las Vegas Review Journal

Broadcast Journalism

Wrangler Network

Remuda Awards

Pendleton (Ore.) PRCA Rodeo Committee

Three Hills Rodeo

Zoetis PRCA Veterinarian of the Year

Dr. John Boyington

Coors Man in the Can

Justin Rumford

Clown of the Year

Justin Rumford

Secretary of the Year

Linda Alsbaugh

Dress Act of the Year

Amanda & John Payne

Comedy Act of the Year

John Harrison

Small Rodeo of the Year

Will Rogers Stampede PRCA Rodeo, Claremore, Okla.

Medium Rodeo of the Year

Days of ’76 Rodeo, Deadwood, S.D.

Large Indoor Rodeo of the Year

San Antonio (Texas) Stock Show & Rodeo

Large Outdoor Rodeo of the Year

Pendleton (Ore.) Round-Up

Bullfighter of the Year

Dusty Tuckness

Announcer of the Year

Randy Corley

Stock Contractor of the Year

Frontier Rodeo

PRCA Donita Barnes Contract Personnel Lifetime Achievement

Cotton Rosser



To read this story and more, copy and paste the link below in your web browser:

Other Frontier Rodeo News


WranglerJustin Boots


Frontier Rodeo Co LLC   Physical and Shipping/Mailing Address 22887 South County Road 214 Freedom, OK 73842